Skip to content

Elvis fights Cancer

October 13, 2016

I put on Elvis’s The Wonder of You, and I love the intro with the drum roll and Elvis going, “Ooooh, hoh….When no one else can understand, when everything I( do is wrong (audience applause), you give me hope and consoloation, you give me strength the carry on, and always there to lend a hand in everything I do…”

I don’t think of a specific person, I think of the power of life–laurie, stand-up, all of you who have helped me so much.

It inspires me. I think of how I was under a pile of blankets on a hot day shivering from chemo, waking up with eigfht tubes sticking out of various parts of my body in the hospital, paddling for a wave no one else coulkd get and taking a laste drop and making it while my buddies hoot, helping my friends with gifts and gooddiesx, and rushing and not nervous to the stage becasuse no matter how hards cancer has pressed me, no matter how desolate my body, the jobs I was unjust downsided from, I would never let anything stop me from retaining the Fred in me. So9me people say this is ego. And trhey’re assholes. They can stare at navels and look into the uhniverse, but what paint brush are you using to paint yourslef and your spirit and its connection with everyone else in the canvas of the world. Isn;t that worth fifghting for, climbhing for, getting not down and springing up and destroying the force that trtied to take you down, yes, to…to..to…TRUIMPH with the spirit inside you, where you use all your coloors in whatever pattern. But it’s all you, and that’s a painting very few can admire from a distance.

So I gear up today to go in for a “procedure” where they are going to widen my food passage. Ideally everything will go well. Sometimes when Ifight fort getting appointments and set them up I wonder if I’m like the guy who rushes to get to a flight that eventually flies into a mountain. Then I smile.

People say, “Are you afraid, scared, frightened.

No, I come out of my corner with fight, defiant, trying to writer jokes and books and be a better friend of those around mne–I will not give up my spirit to nothingness. I feel sorry for anything that gets in my way for thinking it can take me down by making me give up on myself, others, comedy, and life. Thast tool is not on my belt. And so I grimly, methodically, with a slight sdtylish dance step, throws the most viscious punches you’ve ever seen, and I live to kill unredeemed who can only live in darkness because there is nothing for them to ever see in themselves.

A so the sopul flies away from ther flames and ashes and salutes the sun with a contemptuous laugh.

You wanna make something of it.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

