Skip to content

Esophagus Traffic jam

October 11, 2016
I chowed down on some barium fluid. I was standing on an angled platform while the staff vstood in a safe area. A square device was placed against my chest–it looked like a old tv. They clicked and did pictures. The Doctor was DOctor Tongue.
 
Earlier, when the radiology technician old me his name:
“Dr, tongue?”
“Yes.”
“Is he also a gynecologist?”
She stared at me.
“Oh, I get it, You’re heard the everyone else say that line. So now I’m The Guy WHo Said The Obvious Joke. Okay, I’ll own that.”
 
Why was I here?
 
Well, I had difficulty swallowing and was told in a previous exam that was the result of scar tissue from the operation. What they do is scrap the scab and widen the tube.
 
They use barium to illuminate the food tube.
 
So, I see the X-day. Tongue is a cool guy, young and bright and said, “Normally we wait till your doctor tells you, but I can see you’re a bright guy so you can handle this.”
 
“Well, I know I have it.”
 
After surgery, the large food tube become a smaller tube is lot like going from two-lanes of traffic and being forced to merge into one lane–there’s back-up, which has caused me to gag, and then food just gushes out. It lacks the spin vomiting puts on a launch. It’s more like a gust. A reverse slider.
 
The most delicate part about rerstoring two-lanes of traffic in my food tube (esophagus) . Inserting tiny workers to lean on shovels and hold signs up for the foods that want to to to work, signs that say, “Stop” and then they flip them around that says “Slow.” The surgery is expensive because I have to pay these Public Works traffic guys overtime.
 
“You do. It’s small.”He points to an image where there a wide passage–the food tube to my stomach–and then shows a spot near the heart where the tube is much smaller.”
 
 
“Is is about the width of my pinkie?”
 
“Smaller.”
 
Yikes. I’ve been chewing food and trying to swallow and push it through tube that’s as wise as a chopstick!
 
So, the next step is to widen it.
 
“There could be possible perforation of the tissue during surgery, it’s rare but it happens. Scar tissue is tougher than healthy tissue.”
 
So, what is “perforation”? An opening in the esophagus that leaks. It can be repaired with a Stint and no surgery, or you have top go through surgery, and wind up with a tube in your stomach because you can’t eat. I try not to read too much about it, because it’s more like getting a different ending in a horror movie–esophagus removal, tubes, bleech. Have enough on my plate, mainly because I can;t eat.After surgery, the large food tube become a smaller tube is lot like going from two-lanes of traffic and being forced to merge into one lane–there’s back-up, which has caused me to gag, and then food just gushes out.
 
The most delicate part about rerstor9ing two-lanes of traffic in my food tube. Inserting tiny workers to lean on shovels and hold signs up for the foods that want to to to work, signs that saay, “Stop” and then they flip them around that says “Slow.” The surgery is expensive because I have to pay these Public Works traffic guys overtime.
 
I have to schedule an appointment. ER, “PROCEDURE.
 
My cancer honeymoon continues in the world of modern medicine.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

