Skip to content

My oncologist missed and I get hit by cancer again

March 21, 2016

I’ve had testicular cancer twice. I recently went for an endoscope check-up and they found a malignant tumor in my esophagus that had been growing for a couple years. During the past three years I had been going for follow-up exams and was given the all-clear.

I wrote this letter to my Stanford Cancer Center oncologist:

“I’ve been diagnosed with stage 2 esophageal cancer. They said the tumor had been growing for two or three years. I remember asking you if you were doing any tests to see if any other possible cancers were growing in me and you said no. That was a few months ago. I think this tumor should have been caught earlier. I will have to go through quite a bit of suffering that might have been reduced if this had been caught.

I’m not looking to start an argument. I have to devote all my energy to fighting this, not being mad about why I’m fighting it.

Maybe in the future you might want to handle people with testicular cancer differently. A few more PET scans, perhaps, so another patient won’t have to endure what I have to go through again..”

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

