Skip to content

Taking up and putting down Xmas decorations

January 2, 2016

My favorite part is putting up the decorations my parents first put on our tree in Clifton and Freehold then Weston, built the Clifton ones and Freehold mean the most, when Santa was young in our hearts and Mom and Dad struggled but stayed up late and gave us bikes and Lionel trains–a Mr; Kelly;’s car wash, a Monkey Division gun, and I put their picture on the tree and surrounded it with two figurers ornaments from those days. The angel doesn’t have to be on top of the tree. Mine are in my heart in the middle of the tree to fill the emptiness of their presence with an enveloping warmth that has always given me strength when my dreams were pressed down to the mat, but disappointment and struggle couldn’t pin me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

