Skip to content

Fight cancer and taking chemo: face the music to triumph

April 21, 2015

Music was such a key to my recovery from testicular cancer because it summoned yo the spirit in me. It’s been three years, but the hope of spring brings me back to hope fulfilled when I had a chance to live again, and the Beach Boys song I listened to back then played again:

If every word I said
Could make you laugh
I’d talk forever (together my love)
I ask the sky just what we had
Mmm It shone forever (together my love my my my my my my my my my my my my my)
If the song I sing to you
Could fill your heart with joy
I’d sing forever (together my love my my my my)

It’s a plaintive song, but it expressed and evoked a quiet yearning amid the heaviness of chemo, a light piercing through the looming forest. ASNd I remember listening to it when my head was still shaved and I was exhausted from chemo and had gotten in from paddling in the ocean because I was too weak to surf. But I wasn’t going to anything like cancer sap my soul, and the music was helping me bring it. So I clung to it like a rope to climb out of a pit pf my sudden cacve-in into Spring.

Find your music, find your music

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

