Skip to content

Fredly’s Australia: Tracks, Quantas, a Gin and Tonic at the Equator

August 13, 2014

About the flight.
I did celebrate passing the equator with a Gin and Tonic.

After a fifteen hour flight. which really wasn’t that bad. Watched the film Tracks about a woman who walks with three camels and her dog across 2,000 miles of Australian desert (surprise: she has issues, funny how if a guy takes a solo trip and doesn’t get along with people he’s flawed, but a female character is godwin!) And there’s a dog in it–so YOU KNOW WHAT”S GOING TO HAPPEN TO THAT DOG. Some powerful stuff. She was an immensely dislikable character. But yes, she discovered her humanity through the trip, so I guess it’s good. But her dog had to die, and so did a couple camels. Oh, well. I liked it enough to take it personally, so I guess it’s art. But damn, after having cancer, I get tired of watching things die.

And on leaving the flight, I noticed the people in economy cleaned up their messes and the people in the better seats were slobs and left tons of crap for the flight crew to clean up.

Customs had hundreds of people in various lines being funneled through. It seemed that Australia is a ride everyone from all over the world wants to get on.

And I’m one of them. And I’m not bringing a dog, or three camels, or unresolved issues, but then again, my brother is traveling with me, so things can get DANGEROUS!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

