Skip to content

Hanging in LAX: Pre-flight for Australia

August 12, 2014

I’m two hours away from boarding a flight an 11:30 pm flight to Sydney. My brother and I had sushi at some upscale but semi-reasonably priced restaurant called The Lucky Fish. My brother is there first person I’ve ever been with, who in a sushi restaurant asked for salt!

“The rice is flat,” he said.

There is an earlier flight going to sydney, but that would mean arriving at 5:30 in the morning. There are definitely some Australians floating around, along with just about any other nationality. After all, it’s not too often you’re having a Starbuck coffee and sitting in a waiting room lounge and hear, “Direct flight to Istanbul”

Then the announcement goes something like: The USO Bob Hope lounger is available for servicemen.”

And I’m thinking, that’s just what an Iraq veteran with PSD wants in his life, free all-internet access and a shower.

I’ve worked so hard planning this trip, and reading the books, and making ¬†reservations, I almost feel that I’ve already taken the trip, gotten burned out by it, and have just returned home,

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

