Skip to content

The Radiologists Liked Today Cancer Tomorrow The World

December 21, 2013

BooK_SC

“You’re the guy who brought us the book,” said one of the radiologists, checking me for The Big C.

The other nurses smiled and I said, “Did you like it?”

They nod and bring out their copy of Today Cancer Tomorrow The World for me to pose with in front of the CT scan at the Stanford Cancer Center as part of my testicular cancer follow-up.

A guy in the booth behind the the lead shield waves from the glass  and gives me a thumbs up.

So I posed with the book.

When I leave I know they can’t tell me the results of the CT scan, and they seem friendly, but one nurse smiled and her eyes were flat, and it worried me with the usual quiet panic. Am I okay? Or was she upset about something else? All I can hope is that her expression has nothing to do with me.

What can I turn to?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

