Skip to content

Grief and upper vibes and Treasure of The Sierra Madre and HMO Execs

July 1, 2013
When I participated in the Me One Foundation, I met many people who like my book on testicular cancer, Today Cancer Tomorrow The World, who lost loved ones to the sprawling mass of cancer. I lost my Mom and Dad to cancer. I have found grief is heavy, but over time it lightens into the love they have given me, and when I was weak with chemo from testicular cancer and in physical despair, their spirits were solid beams of support who came to give me strength, spurred on my resolve, and helped heal me. Their voices will come to me. And that’s one of the many powers of love. Bad people don’t have that–they’re haunted by love of themselves, and can’t hear the voices trying to save them because they’re selfish and can only hear their cries of self-pity.
Every time I go to the Stanford Cancer Center, I always bring donuts to the nurses, and I occasionally go out of my way to give a small gift to my caregivers, a coffee, a scone, a whatever. There’s a scene in Treasure of The Sierra Madre where the men restore and seal the mine that gave them gold. It was done out of respect for the riches the mine bestowed upon their labor. That’s the same way I look at people who have enriched my life. It’s my altar.
HMO executives are proof that cancer can live outside the body and hold a job. These people can’t exist unless they live within someone else’s system. Sound familiar. Too bad they don’t shrink during out chemo so we can squash them like the bug they are–but only crush them 70 percent because of their deductible
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

