Skip to content

Delilah on radio: don’t get it

May 29, 2013

Delilah is this radio show. Where this woman who has the voice of a transgendered mall listens to people as they open veins of their emotions. I had to work at KWAV, a station that played all those horrid easy listening pop tunes, most of them, if you added jingle bells in the background could pass for Christmas music. In fact, I believe that’s why most of those songs are popular, because they fit the formula of Christmas songs. Anyway, Delilah’s show was syndicated so I had to plug it in. A painful gig. I worked overnights, when I finished my shift,   the morning guy would come in with props and start telling jokes to me he stole from talk show hosts. The guy wasn’t funny. Just a hack willing to steal, which I found is true of most of them. That’s why when you hear them do recorded bits they laugh over them. Why so no one can steal their stolen bits! So back to Delilah and my torment. Here’s how the show would go.

 

Female caller: “I’m deeply in love with this man. But he wants nothing to do with me. We dated and I made some mistakes because I was still in recovery from my previous divorce, my second one. But this one was my fault. My first marriage I was battered, and iut took me years to realize it. But now I know what I want and what will fulfill my life and what I can offer to others to enrich myself.”

Delilah: What can I do to help you?

Female caller: Can you play Elton John’s ‘Someone Saved My Life Tonight.’?

 

Yeah, that will keep her center of balance in place.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim Geiselman permalink
    May 29, 2013 5:42 pm

    I’d like your take on the late night Time/Life Infomercials on “Love Songs of the 80s”. You know – the collections that would take “years to compile” if you did it on your own. The one with the pitcher of lemonade on the coffee table as the guy from Air Suppy (the one who blew his dough) reminds us about Lionel Ritchie and Kenny Loggins. What say you?

Leave a Reply

