Skip to content

Becoming a shoreline in the middle of the night

May 4, 2013

I often wake up in the middle of the night. This happened more after I finished chemo. Sometimes I think it’s because of residual nerve damage that is gradually healing but somehow jolts me awake for no reason. And I lie there in bed, my eyes closed, counting my breaths and their sounds and the rising and falling of my chest make me feel like a shoreline being gently lapped with waves. I’ve become or borderline. And I drift along it and see where I wash up. And then I fall asleep and awake again, drifting along the shoreline like an explorer in a New World, wondering what my next dream might be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

