Skip to content

Beginning excerpt from my work-in-progress: Today Cancer Tomorrow The World

July 8, 2012

I listened to the ominous sounds of soft footsteps followed by hard footsteps and a door opening and closing down the hallway. They are working their way towards me. I’m not the only patient they are seeing today. I’m sitting on the examination table in one of the many rooms in the F Clinic of the Stanford Cancer Center. I’m waiting to meet my oncologist. It’s our first meeting. Ten minutes later, down the hall I hear a door open and close, followed by soft footsteps and hard footsteps then another door opening and closing. For some reason oncologists have hard sounding shoes and their assistants walk lightly on soft ones. I feel like I’m in a cell on death row and the warden and the priest are coming for me. I think of Merle Haggard’s song, ‘Sing Me Back Home.’ And I would like to go back to the world of healthy. And that’s why I’m here, but not why I’m here. Time passes as I read out-of-date news magazines. A door opens and closes, the footsteps come closer. And the door to my room opens.

I look up from the magazine. I see their flat professional faces. I hang my head down. This is as real as it gets And it’s not going to be good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim Geiselman permalink
    July 15, 2012 3:46 pm

    this excerpt is spot on – I get the anxiety with the footsteps and out dated Sports Illustrated magazines as I’m sitting on the examining table. Mind you I get it for a basic physical. I read this excerpt and nodded my head.

Leave a Reply

