Skip to content

What are you going to do with that?

July 5, 2012

When I was going to college, I was majoring in literature and theater.

Relatives and others from the adult and reasonable world said, “What are you going to do with that?”

When I spent my money on music.

“What are you going to do with that?”

When I spent my money on comedy records…

“What are you going to do with that?’

When I read books on history, poetry, a literature…

“What are you going to do with that?”

When watched comedy movies over and over again…

“What are you going to do with that?’

When I did stand-up comedy…

“What are you going to do with that?

When I devoted a lot of time to surf…

“What are you going to do with that?’

When I pursued a career in talk radio…

“What are you going to do with that?”

When I worked at my golf game…

“What are you going to do with that?”

When I worked at a winery…

“What are you going to do with that?”

When I wrote books about surfing, golf, and insults…

“What are you going to do with that?”

And now after doing all those things, losing my job, working part-time, looking for work, being just as broke as I was when I left the East coast to do comedy. Fine, but I have love and surfed, and written books, and fought the right fight, and got slammed by cancer, in debt from medical costs, had numerous rejections from book proposals, none of this contaminated me, and know I still have something inside me that’s better for the next day–it will come because I’ve never settled for less, and like Don Quixote I tilt my sensations at windmills. I see the others, who have lost their jobs and their 401ks and the value in their houses and can’t move because they can’t sell them. They drew their sdelf-worth from their incomer. Now, they have nothing to draw on but the outside world that has closed in on them.

And I want to say but don’t: “What are you going to do with that?”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

