Skip to content

The Big C payment lecture – take a hike with my chemo bag!

June 27, 2012

There are as lot of people who have never walked a mile in my hospital robe or reclined in a chair at the Infusion Center who have some very precise opinions of what I should feel and be grateful for. I will have to add many of them have never gone out of their way to visit or help me. One said, “You should be grateful to the doctors who saved you.” And you know what? I’m not. I walked into the clinic, they looked at my file, and I was one of many. They asked me to fill out forms, sign waivers that gave them every excuse to make a mistake, and never once called me at home to ask I was doing. I’m grateful to the nurses and the friends who selflessly gave me rides to and from the hospital after my chemo treatments as well as the infusion nurses because they cared for me. And I’m grateful to the local GP Dr. David Ressneck-Sannes who discovered the tumor on a routine exam as well as the marvelous Dr. Zen Majuk, who went out of his way to help me with questions about my illnesses and re-taped my catheters for nothing. But the oncologists? No. They just processed me. and their excuse could be that to maintain their profession distance to understand my disease they can’t become involved because it would limit their ability tio see the options of treatment for my care. The uncaring always have the best defense for their inability to care. Just like people who you know for years who do nothing because they fear dealing with mortality (As if by not dealing with yours, they can avoid theirs? Paging Duh.) Then this person kept on going how a hospital is a business and I should be willing to put myself in debt for the rest of my life (This from a person who I knew declared bankruptcy because of a failed business, but that’s okay.). But I corrected her by saying, “Do you remember anyone who is our age when we were kids having difficulty paying their medical bills or having to file bankruptcy because of it? No, and you know why because hospitals weren’t for-profit centers, and insurance wasn’t trying to cut down our treatment. And what about all the years I paid into my medical insurance but didn’t claim anything, how come my insurance will only cover 80 or 60 percent of my casre when I’m sick, but take 100 percent of my money in the years I was healthy but not give me any money back?”

She went onto her moral high ground. And all I can say is walk a mile wearing my blue hospital robe and pulling a metal pole on wheels that holds my clear chemo bag and dripping it through an IV into a port above my collarbone. You can’t clim a moral high ground using that particular off-road vehicle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

