Skip to content

Good deeds in the little acts of unlikely places

June 19, 2012

I was with my friend Part Farley, who wanted to return a trailer hitch and get another one at a U-Haul place in San Jose. We walked into the place. An overweight guy in his sixties with widely spaced teeth and wearing a baseball cap sat behind the counter.

Pat placed a trailer hitch he purchased on the counter and said, “I don’t have the receipt, but I bought this here.”

“I can’t do that. We can’t do returns without a receipt,” indifferently said the guy.

“They didn’t give me one, whenj I bought this hitch I had just the guarantee on two sheets of paper and when I looked for it, there was no receipt.”

“I can’t help you, My boss is the only one who can do this.”

I said, “Can you call him?”

“No he’s taking a class in Gilroy.”

Pat said, “I did it on my credit card.”

“The boss has access to those files of credit cards, he has to do that.” said the guy.

“Well, I guess I have to buy the hitch and then bring this one back later,” siad Pat.

The guy gets up from behind the counter and says, “What month is it?

We’re both puzzled and say. “June.”

The guys goes, “June, July, October, December 25th. Merry Christmas, I’ll just give you the hitch you need. This place makes a lot of money and I never see any of it. When the economy went south, we get yelled at because sales are down and I told them, ‘People don’t have the money so they’re not buying trailers.” He takes the hitch Pat wants and uses a tool to loosen the bolt and adjust it. “There you’re all fixed up. Do you want to keep the other hitch?’

Pat says, “I don’t need it.”

As we’re leaving, point to my short hair and say to the guy, “You know I just got out of chemo a couple months ago and I tell people I know how good most people are, and you gave me one more thing to say.”

He smiled and we left.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laureen permalink
    June 20, 2012 5:00 pm

    🙂

    • June 20, 2012 5:04 pm

      Hey how are you? Keep the book and please give it to people at Dominican. I purchased a couple more to give to others! Later Fred

  2. Laureen permalink
    June 21, 2012 4:38 pm

    Hey there :), Thanks Fred, I will, I want to stop in and say Hi anyway, those nurses are like family 🙂 Thank You…I’m into my second week of radiation, it’s just now starting to suck…nothing like chemo, but no fun, just the same ! Ha ! Coming into the home stretch! Thinking of you and for good results next week
    L

Leave a Reply

