Skip to content

Where I draw the line at art based on the Big C Monsters unwelcomed presence or bad plot lines

March 16, 2012

Slightly under 30 years ago, he first time I had cancer. I decided to pursue my passions. And since I lived in NYC that mean going to the theater. I went to see ‘Night Mother’ on Broadway. The plays deals with a dysfunctional mother-daughter relationship. And the daughter doesn’t want to live. The mother tries to give her a reason to life and fails because of their flawed relationship. The daughter says, “Night, mother” and blows her brains out. I looked at the guy sitting next to me and said, “I spent $38 to find out life isn’t worth living.” And that’s how I feel about most art where the character kills themselves eventually. It’s so easy to put yourself down in any way, whether it’s Studs Lonnigan, or any novel or film where the character kills themselves. It represents a lack of imagination. I have no use for any of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

