Skip to content

If you hate IV needles then go for the medical port: Fredly to the Rescue

January 21, 2012

Sometimes you can be Superman without putting on the costume.

Okay, my beef with doctors is they look at us through a case file for maybe an hour, then spout out an entire program without considering the pain you have to endure going through it. My oncologist never even mentioned the existence of a port and how it would help reduce my pain . So I become a pin-cshion test dummy.

I talked to several chemo people who wished they had used a port because their veins are shot, not to even mention the damage it does to your arms.

So I went to the Stanford Cancer Center and talked to a woman and said there should be information in the oncology session. SHe noted that the info is in areas that install ports. But I noted that by that time, I as a patient had to endure many needles, and that could be avoided.

I pointed at the clinics from A to F and said, “This is ground zero. Patients should know here before they begin their treatment so they can reduce their pain. Just have a sign there that says, “If you don’t like getting IVs, try a port.”

She agreed with me.

I added,”How much time would it take an oncologist to simply say this< “Look, you are going to have to get a lot of IV needles, ther’s an option you can look into called a medical port, it will reduce your pain. There’s some information about ti outside, and you can contact someone to get more information about it.’ If they did that, at least it would so that they care, and how much time would that take? Two minutes. My take is if they have a case overload, and don;t have the time to be compassionate, they shouldn’t be a doctor. They chose to be a doctor, I didn’t choose to have cancer, so I outrank them.”

She agreed and went off to see if something could be improved.

I felt good about this, I’m going through the chemo with the port, and it’s so effortless. I look at all the other people involved in the world of pain or their condition but they’re not looking outward. I don’i want to be them. And I thought, I could do something to help others when I’ here.

Meanwhile another day passes with the chemo flowing and it squirms and shrinks that the coward it truly is, because it can only take life, it doesn’t have a life of its one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cathi Balsinger permalink
    January 22, 2012 2:47 am

    I got my port early on. Docs tried to talk me out of it, but after my first chemo, when
    I ended up with 3 IVs, I said “NOW can I have a port-a cath?” They said yes. And it is a Godsend. I has helped during 2 surgeries and 8 cycles of chemo. I hope I am almost done with the chemo. Things are looking up.
    As soon as you are diagnosed, and BEFORE you start chemo, make sure you ask for, and get, a port-a-cath.

Leave a Reply

