Skip to content

Cancer update. Big C opens with a low blow below Fred’s belt.

January 12, 2012

Actually the news is pretty dispiriting. Even worse than Springsteen’s song Outlaw Pete. I’m diving into a blazing ring of fire and thorns.

They want to do another scan of me with a glucose formula to see if it’s spread to my liver which will only mean they will give me a different “cocktail.” I will have to keep my bags on my body for four weeks to siphon off my urine because they want to shrink the tumor before they put stints in my kidney beans. So I’m being decanted.

On wed, they are giving me a chemo at Stanford Cancer Center that will be lighter on the kidneys until the ceretinin levels are adjusted. Until the end of March, with two weeks break in between, I will receive chemo for a full five days from 9am to 5 pm (Yes, those are the hours–it’s almost as bad as the day job I had working in a bank years ago.) I’ll have to shop for a cool hat to go with my newly bald head.

Then after all this, they plan to operate and remove what’s left of the tumor, and my last testicle (I will be Freddy Decaf for the rest of my life.) I had testicular cancer 30 years ago and lost the other one. They said there is a slight growth on my remaining testicle and that I have a form of testicular cancer (at my age!) which I’m not sure is correct. I have a hard time with someone who has looked at my case for a couple hours and then makes a decision that affects me for the rest of my life.

Who knows, they say I’m a high cure even if it has gone to my liver because this is a very lite form of cancer (so far). They think it’s only been in me a couple of months. What can I say, I feel like I’m falling backwards into a pit and knowing I’m landing on a trampoline, and who will bounce off it and land is beyond me right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 11:23 pm

    Keep the faith buddy… Still plenty of track on this particular journey…

Leave a Reply

