Skip to content

A Groucho Marx song by Harry Ruby For Father’s Day

June 19, 2011

It’s a short song, but Groucho Marx sung it on his Carnagie Hall album I’ve always loved it”

“Today is Father’s Day and we’re giving you a tie.
Thought it’s not much you know.
It is just our way of showing you we think you’re a regular guy.
You say that it was nice of us to bother.
But it really was a pleasure to fuss.
For according to our Mother you’re our Father.
And that’s good enough for us.
Yes, that’s good enough for us.

MY Dad’s not here anymore, but I sing it to him. And consider myself lucky that he never let me down. He provided for us. And he always came though.

I was fortunate not to be stuck with a loser Dad that ZI hear people try to explain away by saying, “He loved me in his own way.”

No, I was loved.

And sometimes he visits me if I’m doing the right thing with my life. I feel an energy that is not mine and it fills me. It’s the energy when he beamed and smiled at me and was proud of me. The last time I saw it was when he was in the hospital, and back East and I just got on a plane and flew to be with him. He laid in the gurney, smiling at me, knowing that there was nothing that meant more to me than being with him. He didn’t make it. But I knew that day I had achieve my greatest success, I became a man my father was proud of, a true son. And that smile and those eyes of his power me onward every day.

Happy Father’s Day Dad, I feel you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon McMillan permalink
    September 26, 2011 8:42 pm

    Groucho also sang it on the Dick Cavett show, which TCM just aired yesterday.
    Here’s the second verse:

    Today is Father’s Day father
    And we’re giving you a tie
    The tie that you got
    Didn’t cost such a lot
    And we’ll give you the same tie next year.
    You tell us it was nice of us to bother
    But it really was a pleasure to fuss
    For they say a child can only have one father
    And you are the one for us
    Yes you are the one for us.

    • September 27, 2011 12:42 am

      Thanks. I’m looking forward to the show. Groucho was the greatest comedian/comic, he could say funny things and say things funny.

Leave a Reply

